More Freaky Pie Crust!

pumpkinpieWe were potentially dealing with a dairy allergy yesterday so searched for a dairy free pumpkin pie recipe. The other condition? No soy. Not for any dietary purposes but I’m really just not a fan of the taste. Found one in the trusty allrecipes.com dbase to start from and, after an emergency stop for rice milk, we were ready to get down to some serious Thanksgiving meal prep.

The really awesome part of this pie is the crust that gets mixed right in the pan! Yes, so much easier, thanks for asking. Not even my vodka pie crust lets you do that.

Crust:
1 1/2 c + 2 Tbsp white flour
2 tsp white sugar
1 tsp salt
1/2 c canola oil
2 Tbsp rice milk
Mix all of the ingredients in a 9″ pie plate with a fork. Once it’s consistent, press it into the shape that you want. I need a little more practice getting the bottom smooth and thumbprint free because there were a few thick areas that I noticed once we cut it into slices.

Filling:
1/2 c white sugar
1/4 c dark brown sugar
1 Tbsp Epicure Apple Pie Spices (they called for a whole laundry list of cinnamon, nutmeg etc but I took the shortcut)
15 oz pumpkin puree (I added another 8 oz from a second can because it just didn’t look like enough)
2 Tbsp canola oil
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla (I used way more, of course)
1 1/4 c rice milk

Mix it all together in a bowl and pour it into the pan.  Put it onto a baking sheet and into a 425F oven for 10 minutes. Drop the temperature to 350F and leave it in for another 40-50 minutes.  That’s the recipe direction but my pie needed another 20-30 minutes so I also ended up wrapping the edges of the crust in aluminum foil for protection but it worked a dream.

There’s a really good chance that it needed the extra time because it was sharing the oven with both a roast and a huge tray of root vegetables. It was so worth the wait! Sweet and spicy filling that had an awesome homemade texture. Look at this closup… Flaky! Flaky, I tell you. I’m going to try this crust with another filling that pumpkinpie2takes approximately the same amount of time to cook, not sure what yet. An apple with a streusel top might be nice, or something with a meringue maybe. At this point, I’m limited to single crust pies… however… maybe… if I mixed the crust in a bowl and rolled it out between two sheets of plastic wrap, like I had to for the first Freaky Pie Crust recipe… I do believe there’s another pie in my near future!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

